On 1 December 2014, in conjunction with the 43rd UAE National Day celebrations,

His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, UAE Vice President and Prime Minister and Ruler of Dubai, recognised 43 Emiratis with The UAE Pioneers Award.

Read More


Abdul Hamid Ahmad

First President of Emirates Writers Union

Habib Al Sayegh

First Emirati elected as Secretary General of Arab Writers Union

The late Sultan Al Owais

First to establish a prize in Literature

Dubai Public Library

First public library

Hafsah Suroor

The youngest writer

Abu Dhabi International Book Fair

First book fair in the UAE